Minutes Coe Memorial Park Advisory Committee October 27, 2010

Mission Statement

To create within the downtown area of Torrington a first class horticultural oasis in accordance with and strict adherence to the intent of the Coe Godfrey benefactors and the Coe Family Trust.

<u>Present</u>

Coe Memorial Park Advisory Committee Members: Margaret Keywan, Susan Coe Holbrook, Dr. Isadore Temkin, and Mary Zbell. Also present was guest Mark McEachern.

<u>Absent</u>

Marc Trivella and Frank Pennington

At 5:00 p.m., Margaret Keywan called to order a special meeting of the Coe Memorial Park Advisory Committee.

Election of Officers

The first order of business was the election of officers. Susan Coe-Holbrook made a motion to nominate Frank Pennington as Chairman. Dr. Isadore Temkin seconded the motion, which was approved unanimously. Dr. Temkin then moved to nominate Mary Zbell as Vice Chairman. This motion was seconded by Susan Coe-Holbrook, and approved unanimously. Susan Coe-Holbrook then moved to nominate Margaret Keywan as Secretary. Said motion was seconded by Mary Zbell and approved unanimously.

Approval of Previous Minutes

A motion to approve the minutes of the September 1, 2010 meeting was made by Margaret Keywan, seconded by Susan Coe-Holbrook, and approved unanimously. A motion to approve the minutes of the October 6, 2010 meeting was made by Margaret Keywan, seconded by Susan Coe-Holbrook, and approved unanimously.

Discussion was held as to the proposed appointment of Mark McEachern to the Committee. It was agreed that a motion would be made at the next meeting to appoint Mr. McEachern at that time.

Citizen's Comments

A question was raised by Mike Banziruk as to the table/chair count at Coe Memorial Park. Ms. Coe-Holbrook responded that according to a note from Brett Simmons in preparation for this meeting, there are 29 Mity-Lite tables and 95 green chairs at the Park. It was noted that 40 tables had been purchased, and it was thought that 130

green chairs had been purchased. Mr. Banziruk commented as of June 15, 1998, the City Council approved the purchase of 40 Mity-Lite tables and that the Parks and Recreation Department needed to come up with those tables as they were not the property of the Parks and Recreation Department. The Committee suggested that Mr. Banziruk bring this before the Parks and Recreation Commission.

Park Operations / Old Business

Discussion of the Superintendent's report was then held. Ms. Coe-Holbrook expressed her concerns with regard to the roof repair and not knowing the scope of the work proposed. Future plans for the Carriage House were suggested and discussion continued regarding the need for repair of the roof now or as part of Phase II. A motion was then made by Ms. Coe-Holbrook that the Committee be provided with the estimates received and a professional opinion as to the condition of the Carriage House roof to determine the best course of action. This motion was seconded by Margaret Keywan and approved unanimously.

It was noted that the newly transplanted spruce tree designated to be the new Christmas tree was dying. On a motion by Margaret Keywan, with a second by Susan Coe-Holbrook, the Committee voted unanimously to agree to Mike Zaharek's offer of planting a new holiday tree.

With regard to a proposal received from Mike Zaharek for removal and chipping of the remaining spruce trees, Ms. Coe-Holbrook stated that she thought that the Trust had paid \$6,300 for the removal of the spruce trees. On a motion by Susan Coe-Holbrook, with a second by Dr. Isadore Temkin, the Committee voted unanimously that they see the quote for the remaining spruce tree work and determine if the Trust has not already paid for the removal of the spruce trees.

It was noted that a proposal for an annual contract with Mike Zaharek has been requested.

New Business

On a motion by Dr. Isadore Temkin, with a second by Mary Zbell, the Committee voted unanimously to appoint Margaret Keywan and Susan Coe-Holbrook as a "Mission Statement and By-Law Committee" to research and present ideas to the Coe Memorial Park Advisory Committee. On a motion by Susan Coe-Holbrook, with a second by Margaret Keywan, the Committee voted unanimously to hold their next meeting at City Hall on November 10, 2010 for discussion of research materials and by-laws. No meeting will be held November 3, 2010.

With regard to the fall garden plans, Dr. Temkin referenced Kim Barbieri's suggestions for detailed plans for Coe Memorial Park that address color schemes, designs, and plants and stated that the plans presented by Still River Garden did not give this detail. On a motion by Dr. Isadore Temkin, with a second by Margaret Keywan, the Committee voted unanimously that the fall garden plans be sent back to Still River Gardens for a more detailed report as per Kim Barbieri's suggestions regarding color and designs. Ms. Keywan noted, for the record, that as per the Still River Gardens June 30, 2010 report, out of \$18,350 allowed for materials, \$11,436.85 had been spent on flowers and shrubs for the Park, leaving a balance of \$6,913.15 for materials. Ms. Keywan

continued by stating that out of the \$11,346.85, \$8,026.35 was spent on annuals, \$2,635.50 was spent on perennials, and \$775 was spent on the urn. Deducting from the \$2,635.50 for the hibiscus, laurel, boxwood, hydrangea, and holly (shrubs), only \$1,961.25 was spent on perennial flowers. Dr. Temkin commented that this was an unacceptable ratio. It was noted that Still River Gardens had previously stated that they would spend more on perennials.

Considerable discussion was held on the projection for 2011 to have a Victorian walking garden. Concerns were raised regarding the lack of a quarterly performance review of Still River Gardens, the fact that there were no longer any species plants within the Park, the removal and whereabouts of the hostas, and the lack of disregard to Ms. Barbieri's suggestions for the Park. Mark McEachern suggested that the concept of a Victorian garden be better defined as opinions could vary by individual.

Adjournment

On a motion by Susan Coe-Holbrook, with a second by Margaret Keywan, the Committee voted unanimously to adjourn their meeting at 5:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Lynn Rategan Parks Department Secretary